Recipes of the week! (10/21- 10/26)

I was feeling pretty down in the dumps this week.

My first cold of fall arrived, just in time for my Halloween party last week.. :/

Nonetheless, the party was great!

When Monday rolled around, though, I hated myself..

Usually I have no problem finding recipes that I want to make..

This week, I craved nothing but chicken noodle soup made by ANYONE except me.

BUT, I sucked it up. Because I needed to eat and nobody was cooking for me.

So here went my week..

MONDAY:

Pork Chops with Apples and Garlic Smashed Potatoes from The Food Network

PORK_CHOP_APPLES_POTATOES_8.tif

My review: Potatoes turned out great. I boiled them in vegetable broth instead of water (yum). The pork chops flavor was AMAZING. I cooked the onion and apple in my cast iron skillet until soft and then took them out and browned my pork chops for a few minutes on each side. When the outside of the pork was crispy, I took them out of the pan, replaced the onion and apple with apple cider vinegar, placed the pork chops on top and covered them for about 10 minutes. TLDR; I’d make it again.

Grocery List: 1 lb small potatoes, 4 pork loin chops, 2 granny smith apples, sage, 1 red onion, 3/4 cup apple cider (substituting 1/2 apple cider vinegar and water), 1/4 cup buttermilk (TIP:  add a splash of distilled white vinegar to however much milk you are using and let rest 5 minutes. VOILA! Buttermilk!)

TUESDAY:

Dinner at the boy’s house.

Filet mignon with a perfect fall salad of baby spinach, kale, chopped apples, cherry tomatoes, and walnuts drizzled with Olive Oil and Maple Balsamic Vinegar (we get ours from the Oilerie but there are a few recipes I have been wanting to try to make it on my own including this one).

WEDNESDAY:

Cheating.. I didn’t make it. But I sure did eat it!

Mac and cheese by the Kitchen Treaty

mac-and-cheese-31

REVIEW: Delicious! And trust me, I could and probably will someday make a post about all of the different macaroni and cheese recipes that I have made. This one was pretty damn good. Close tie with my number 1, which we can get into a different day. We used 1/2 almond milk, 1/2 2%. All I would add, if I wasn’t making this dish for children, is much more pepper!

GROCERIES: macaroni (or noodles of choice), 3 cups shredded cheddar, flour, milk, butter, dry mustard, paprika.

THURSDAY:

My Father’s Birthday Feast

Spaghetti with Rachael Ray’s Meatballs Cheesy Garlic Bread and Caesar Salad

IMG_2794

THOUGHTS: These meatballs are the best. Especially with fresh parsley and oregano, delightful. This bread! Yum!  As for the sauce, I wanted to make something chunky, and tasty to not overpower the meatballs, so I made it up as I went .. delightful. I will have to make a post about tomato sauce soon. I LOVE making sauce. And eating it. Especially eating it.

GROCERIES: Meatballs:  1 1/2 lb ground sirloin(I use my family’s own grass-fed beef), parsley, oregano, parmesan cheese, worcestershire sauce, egg, bread crumbs (I like panko).

Sauce: 2 cans fire roasted crushed tomatoes, 2 red peppers, 1 lb baby bella mushrooms, onion, celery, garlic, fresh oregano, fresh parsley, red wine, beef broth, sun-dried tomatoes.

Salad: romaine, black olives, pepperoncinis, parmesan, and caesar dressing

FRIDAY/SATURDAY/SUNDAY:

Leftovers. Sweet, sweet leftovers. ;)

Have a nice week, everyone!

SIGNATURE

Leave a Reply

