Recipes of the Week! (10/28-11/1)

Ahh. Back to the grind.

No more colds. No more hangovers. No more laziness.

This week, menu planning was easy- peasy.

After a weekend of leftovers and eating out, I’m ready for a nice, healthy week of meals.

MONDAY:

BREAKFAST:

Oatmeal Banana Cottage Cheese Pancakes from My Little Gourmet

OatmealCottageCheesePancake2

Review: I’ve tried my fair share of oatmeal pancakes. And cottage cheese pancakes. And banana pancakes. THESE are seriously the best I’ve ever had. I didn’t mini-fy them but the texture was amazing. Perfectly moist, soft center with wonderful flavor. Delicious.

Groceries: (I always have all of the pancake fixing ingredients on hand ;) ) Oatmeal, banana, eggs, baking powder, milk (I used almond), cottage cheese, vanilla, cinnamon

DINNER:

Whitey’s (Dad’s) Chili

(AKA Chili that is different every single time it is made)

Groceries: Chili beans, black beans, ground beef, celery, tomatoes, carrots

TUESDAY:

Pumpkin Sage Risotto by edible perspective

7of12_thumb

Review: Yum! Perfect Fall meal. Risotto is something that I could never get sick of!

Groceries: 1 cup pureed pumpkin, fresh sage, arborio rice, vegetable broth, onion

And after cooking my risotto, I still had 3/4 cup of pumpkin puree left in the can..

So off I was, on a hunt to find a recipe that used 3/4 cup pumpkin puree.

Chocolate Covered Katie saved the day, once again!

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Bars

pumpkin-pie-bar_thumb

Review: I LOVED THEM! So moist! I used coconut oil,  almond milk, 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 a.p. flour and 1 real egg. As for sweeteners, I don’t like extremely sweet desserts, so I used 2 1/2 T brown sugar and 2 t of fresh maple syrup! Instead of the frosting I just sprinkled some raw cane sugar on top. Next time I will try with even less sweetener because with the sugar topping I could totally get away with it!

Groceries: (had everything on hand except for the frosting ingredients, which I just skipped) 3/4 cup pumpkin puree, brown sugar (and stevia if desired), baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, vanilla, flour of choice, milk of choice, egg of choice,  oil of choice

WEDNESDAY:

 AMAZING Grilled Cheese by food52

10498842763_d3f8d2c662_c

Review: I feel like I can’t give a review to its full potential because I may or may not have skimped a little bit…  I used what I had left over in my fridge (my plain old Ezekiel Bread). Nonetheless… DELICIOUS! Perfectly done crust with perfectly gooey cheese. Now if only I had the time to make some tomato soup to dip it in. :/

Groceries: Sourdough bread (personal choice), butter, cheese.

THURSDAY:

Vegetarian Pad Thai by One Ingredient Chef

w640

Review: I didn’t have tamari on hand so I went without it.. STILL great! Loved the addition of squash and asparagus (I never add them to my stir frys). Will definitely make again!

Groceries: Vegetable stock, Rice Vinegar, Nori/Seaweed (I love cooking asian/chinese/thai dishes so I always have all of these on hand), Tamari, rice noodles, asparagus, red pepper, carrots, bean sprouts (I skipped them), tofu, yellow squash, green onion (I added mushrooms, kale and fresh ginger because I love them).

FRIDAY:

Over-easy egg, mozzarella, and avocado sandwich.

Nice and simple meal for a friday night.

Have a wonderful week, everyone!

SIGNATURE

Leave a Reply

