Recipes of the week! (11/11-11/15)

Do you ever feel like you cook the same thing, constantly?

Because, I do. All the time.

And it drives me absolutely crazy.

So, this week, I’m changing it up a bit.

And, I’m also being a little lazy and doubling these recipes so that I can eat all week without cooking much.

MONDAY:

Saffron Rice with Chicken Sausage and Kale

(The recipe calls for store-bought Saffron rice, which is full of sodium and extremely enriched so I opted to make my own with the help of About.com)

SONY DSC

Review: I really  liked this dinner! I picked up a package of local Chicken Sausage with Apples (not realizing the apples were in it), and it made the dish a little too sweet for my liking. Overall, I would make it again. I would just use a different sausage. My boyfriend thinks Andouille Sausage would have been a good addition.

Groceries: 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 lb of sausage, 5 leaves of kale, onion, white wine, yellow saffron rice (or jasmine basmati, vegetable broth, saffron, and turmeric)

TUESDAY:

Dang Hippie Soup

Dang Hippie Soup 1 Rect

Review: I forgot to buy celery at the store. What the heck was I thinking?! It was good. Although, I want my celery. And more salt. And pepper. And less Turmeric. Then I’d be Dang Hippie Happy!

Groceries: 1 onion, 3 stalks celery, 2 lb sweet potatoes, 4 c broth, 1 can diced tomatoes (fresh if in season), 1 can of black beans

WEDNESDAY & THURSDAY & FRIDAY:

Leftovers. Yup, these two meals lasted me ALL week.

Have a great week, everyone!

SIGNATURE

Leave a Reply

