Thanksgiving Must-Bake: Cranberry Orange Cardamom Clafoutis

Yes, it’s amazing.

Yes, it tastes like the Holidays.

Yes, you MUST make this.

I was laying in bed this morning trying to decide what I could make with my Navel Oranges. Then, I started thinking about how badly I could go for a Clafoutis.

So, I needed to make an Orange Clafoutis, PRONTO.

The first and only time that I had Clafoutis was when I was visiting Kyle’s sister in New York. They had a lunch party and one of the guests brought a Cherry Clafoutis. It was the most moist, airy, beautiful thing that I have ever tasted. He boasted about how simple it was to make, and since that day, I have saved millions (not really) of Clafoutis recipes, and admittedly have not even taken a look at any of them until today..

I have been trying to decide what to bring for Thanksgiving because I normally just bring a drink, I was going to try to concoct an Ale Cider Punch this year, but now, after concocting this Orange and Cranberry bliss, that might have to wait until next year!

This recipe has the perfect, slightest orange back-flavor, with the perfect amount of tart from the cranberries. The cardamom gives it a cozy warmth to pull it all together.

(Can you tell I’m writing this as I’m eating a piece? Yum, it’s delicious!)

016557407f6ca3b5469c56fd812b6667ddfb86bca3

Cranberry Orange Cardamom Clafoutis

(Adapted from Julia Child’s Cherry Clafoutis)

1 1/4 cups almond milk
1/2 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla
1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
1 T orange zest (zest of 1 orange)
2 T Valencia Orange Juice (juice from about 1 orange)
1/2 cup flour (1/2 white, 1/2 whole wheat)
1 cups cranberries (plus more sugar to simmer in if a less tart flavor is desired)
1/3 cup more sugar
powdered sugar, for garnish

EDIT: I decided/ my boy decided that it was a little too tart. Second time around, I simmered the cranberries in a sugar-water for a few minutes, not long enough to lose their texture.

Preheat oven to 350°

Using blender, mix milk through flour.

Lightly butter a round, 8 cup pan.

Pour in about ¼ inch of batter, set rest of batter aside.

Bake 8-10 minutes, until bottom has set but is not completely baked through.

Remove from oven and cover with cranberries. Sprinkle 1/3 cup sugar over berries. Then pour remaining batter over the top. (If making for a crowd, take a little bit and put it in a muffin tin so you can try for yourself before feeding it to everyone)

Bake 45-60 minutes. Finished when toothpick inserted comes out clean.

ENJOY! Good luck not eating it all by yourself!

SIGNATURE

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Must-Bake: Cranberry Orange Cardamom Clafoutis

  1. Pingback: Recipes of the Week! (11/18-11/22) | Marigold Mustard

  2. Pingback: A Thanksgiving Breakfast: Apple Clafoutis | In an Irish Home

Leave a Reply

